Nine quality transfers to remind fans not every Eredivisie signing is a flop

first_img Rafael van der Vaart left Ajax for Hamburg in 2005 – Van der Vaart won the Johan Cruyff Trophy in 2001 and was the first recipient of the Golden Boy award in 2003, given by sports journos to the best young player in Europe. After signing for Hamburg he earned a move to Real Madrid in 2008 and was also loved by fans during his two years at Tottenham where he helped the club reach the quarter finals in their maiden Champions League campaign. Ronaldo left PSV for Barcelona in 1996 – Ronaldo became 9 9 9 9 Christian Eriksen left Ajax for Tottenham in 2013 – click the arrow to see other Eredivisie hits – Tottenham have completed the signing of Vincent Janssen from Dutch club AZ after top scoring in the Eredivisie with 27 goals in 34 games last season. He also won the Johan Cruyff Trophy, awarded to the best young player under the age of 21 but rival fans have been quick to rubbish these achievements, citing players like Kezman and Alves. They failed to make the grade after leaving the Eredivisie following similarly impressive seasons, however, there have been many success stories proving not everyone is doomed to fail. Spurs playmaker Eriksen is one of them and he has become an influential member of the team since joining from Ajax in 2013. He built himself an impressive reputation in the Netherlands and like Janssen; he also picked up the Johan Cruyff Trophy, winning it in 2011. 9 Arjen Robben left PSV for Chelsea in 2004 – Since leaving his native Netherlands, Robben has played for Chelsea, Real Madrid and Bayern Munich and won each of those country’s leagues as well as the Champions League. He provided a taste of what was to come in 2003 when he won the Johan Cruyff Trophy for his displays in PSV colours. Wesley Sneijder left Ajax for Real Madrid in 2007 – Sneijder was a product of the Ajax academy and won the Johan Cruyff Trophy in 2004. Real paid €27m for him in 2007 and the player memorably scored the winner against Atletico Madrid in his first Liga match. He later joined Inter in 2009 and was part of the team that won the Champions League, Serie A and Coppa Italia in 2010. Ruud van Nistelrooy left PSV for Man United in 2001 – Van Nistelrooy was top scorer in successive seasons in 1999 and 2000 with 31 and 29 goals respectively where he also won back-to-back Dutch Player of the Year gongs. United signed him in 2001 for £19m and he went on to score 150 goals in 219 games before leaving for Real Madrid in 2006. center_img Luis Suarez left Ajax for Liverpool in 2011 – Suarez scored 35 goals for Ajax in the 2009/10 season to win the top scorer award, a year he also won the Player of the Year gong. Liverpool paid £22m for him in 2011 and since his goal scoring exploits in the Premier League, he joined Barcelona for £75m in 2014. Two Liga titles and the Champions League trophy have followed. 9 9 There was a lot of negative talk from Tottenham’s rivals following the arrival of Vincent Janssen from AZ for £18m.The 22-year-old top scored in the Eredivisie last season with 27 goals in 34 games and was also crowned Dutch Young Player of the Year, awarded to players under the age of 21.Many have been quick to rubbish these achievements, citing the likes of Mateja Kezman and Afonso Alves, who arrived with reputations as goal machines but flopped when they left the Netherlands. However, not everyone is doomed to fail.There have been plenty of players who have enjoyed great success since leaving the Eredivisie and here, talkSPORT has nine examples of players dominating elsewhere.POSSIBLE SPURS LINE UP WITH JANSSEN Dennis Bergkamp left Ajax for Inter in 1993 – Going even further back, to 1990, Bergkamp won the Dutch Football Talent of the Year before it became the Johan Cruyff Trophy in 2003 and also top scored in 1991, 1992 and 1993 with Ajax. He earned a move to Inter when Serie A was the envy of Europe before joining Arsenal in 1995. He didn’t have a bad career in England… 9 getty images – getty 9 Robin van Persie left Feyenoord for Arsenal in 2004 – Van Persie was a UEFA Cup winner and recipient of the Johan Cruyff Trophy when he arrived in England in 2004. Since then he has won countless other individual awards including two Premier League Golden Boots and the PFA Player of the Year. His goals also helped Man United win the Premier League in 2013. That’s him lining up for Feyenoord above (top row, second from right). last_img read more